Wednesday, August 31, 2011

What Went Wrong - Kiran Bedi: Integrity+dignity+determi nation=KIRAN BEDI

Written by: Dr. Kiran Bedi
First Published: 2001
Price: Rs. 175
Pages: 205
Publisher: UBSPD (UBS Publisher’s Distributors Ltd.)
About Authoress: The book has been written/ compiled by Kiran Bedi. Any Indian not knowing about Kiran Bedi is impossible. She brought revolution in the thinking of Women of India, is a role model for not only women but all Indians, brought a revolutionary change in Indian prison’s functioning that has well been appreciated worldwide. Her awards and recognitions include: 
1. First woman in India to join the leadership ranks of the Indian Police Service.
2. Ramon Magsaysay Award (known as Asian Nobel Prize)
3. Pathbreaker in prison reforms, community policing, crime preventive strategies, drug abuse treatment, spirituality in police training and street children’s schooling
4. Gallantry Award for selfless duty
5. Recipient of Joseph Beuys Award by a German foundation
6. Asia Region award for Drug Prevention and Control by the international organization of Good Templars (IOGT), a Norwegian organization
7. Morrison-Tom Gitchaff Award (USA) in June 2001
8. Founded Navjyoti in 1988
9. Founded India Vision Foundation in 1994
10. Serge Sotiroff Memorial Award for drug abuse prevention by United Nations

Who should read this book?
1.    All those who respect Kiran Bedi and women power of India
2.    All those who believe in the power of India and love India
3.    All those who feel pain for poor and destitutes
4.    All those who feel that circumstances play a major role in ruling the destiny of a person
5.    Who believe that a small wrong step (un)knowingly taken may lead to a disaster of life
6.    Who believe that an Human at low ends needs another Human in life for upliftment
7.    All those who believe that good wins over evil, saver is greater than destroyer…
8.    Who trust in God, Truth and a Power still unknown, untouched
9.    Who can understand and have a capacity to absorb harsh realities of life
10.    If you understand PAIN, LOVE, ANGUISH, TOLERANCE… 

What is this book all about? 
The book is an uncensored collection of first hand volunteered accounts by individuals who had nothing to declare but their wrong past – with a reservoir of painful experiences, at times when they were not at all responsible for this, but were not even able to control the external circumstances. Each true story, each page, each word transforms your thought process, your understanding of life, your beliefs in realities of life.
What this book says: 
1.    Wisdom is to learn from your own and other’s mistakes
2.    Being forewarned is being forearmed
3.    Prevention is better than cure 

These three points may appear very common and already known to you all but after reading this book, you will understand the severity, reality and meaning beyond meaning of these words. 
Some Stories: 
Story 1: My name is Afsana, aged 29, and a mother of two. When I was 19, I came to Delhi to meet my father. The auto-rickshaw driver instead took me home and raped me. I refused to leave and insisted that he marry me instantly…
Story 2: My name is Shalini, 27. My beauty, considered to be a boon by my family, soon became my bane. I am still repaying the price of being extremely attractive, with an extended life of being one of the most repelling faces you can come across…
Story 3: Alas, that first CIGARETTE SEALED MY FATE…
Story 4: 27 years old Geeta belonging to a poor family gets married to a well-to-do family of wealthy landlords. How this small family of a widowed mother, her only son and his wife (Geeta) had to fight with system, police, their relatives… to save their lives…
There are 37 such realities narrated in simple but mind boggling words… that make your sleep go away… that force you to think… to think… and to think…

No comments:

Post a Comment